Section 3 Champion Holland Patent Leads The Way With 4 Selections

Posted on Jan 9 2019 - 7:53am by Jeff Pexton

The New York State Sportswriters Association has announced the 2018 All-State Football Teams for Class B through 8 Man Football and several local players have been selected. Classes AA and A are set to be announced next week.

In Class B, senior quarterback Alex Oliver was selected to the 4th team offense, while his teammate, senior linebacker Matt Ciotti received honorable mention.


Red Devils quarterback Alex Oliver (20) (MYSR File Photo – Jeff Pexton – Perfect Game Imaging)


In Class C, Section III Champion Holland Patent had three players named to All-State Teams. Senior lineman Orlando Cross was a first team selection, while teammates Jason Haas, a senior running back and Josh Ernst, a senior placekicker were named to the 2nd team offense. Alex Herringshaw, a senior quarterback, received honorable mention.


Right this way….Holland Patent’s Orlando Cross (62) blocks two General Brown defenders to allow a big running lane for Jason Haas (21) in the Section III, Class C Championship Game in the Carrier Dome. (MYSR File Photo – Jeff Pexton – Perfect Game Imaging)


Utica Notre Dame senior quarterback Trejjen Garrett was chosen for the 3rd team offense, while fellow Juggler Joe Howard, a lineman, received honorable mention.


Notre Dame quarterback Trejjen Garrett (4). (MYSR File Photo – Jeff Pexton – Perfect Game Imaging)


In Class D. Herkimer Magicians senior runningback Wyatt Renshaw was named to the second team offense. Fellow Magicians Zach Parmon and Adam Green received honorable mention.


Herkimer’s Wyatt Renshaw (13) heads for the end zone during a game at Frankfort-Schuyler (MYSR File Photo – Jeff Pexton – Perfect Game Imaging)


Dolgeville senior Jordan Ortlieb was named to the Class D second team defense as a linebacker.

Also in Class D, Frankfort-Schuyler linemen Tyler Rosati and John Banas received honorable mention.

For the first time, NYSSWA recognized the growing 8 man football division for All-State recognition. Locally, Oriskany senior quarterback Matt Enos and Sherburne-Earlville senior lineman Calib Hill were named as All State Players.


Oriskany’s Noah Hartung (62) and Kyle McGrath (71) provide great protection for quarterback Matt Enos (12) during a 2018   8 man football game against Cooperstown. (MYSR File Photo – Jeff Pexton – Perfect Game Imaging).


Congratulations to all from The Mid-York Sports Report!

Check back next week as we reveal the Class AA and A  NYSSWA All-State Players.